Our strength is the sum of our parts,  GET INVOLVED TODAY! 

Sign Up!

AFL-CIO Community Services

The mission of AFL-CIO Community Services is to improve the lives of workers and their families by meeting their human and social service needs; building broad and diverse coalitions to promote and protect dignity and justice for workers; and empowering workers and their unions to make their communities better, more responsive places to live, work and raise a family.


Tradition of Giving Back

From the early days of passing the hat to the organized community projects that many of our unions coordinate today, union members embrace the fact that we are stronger together.  Central Labor Councils and local unions proudly coordinate projects such as the Letter Carriers' Stamp Out Hunger Food Drive, back pack drives for students, coat and mitten drives in the winter months, volunteer coaching, strike assistance, charitable giving to local charities, Dads Against Diabetes campaigns, scholarship programs, United Way campaign fundraising, assistance to Veterans, Habitat for Humanity, Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts, Ronald McDonald House, American Red Cross disaster relief and much more. They use their skills to help not-for-profit agencies and often donate their labor to projects in order to build stronger, more caring, communities.

United Way Partnerships

Through a partnership with United Way, Illinois currently has twelve AFL-CIO Community Services Liaisons in place to ensure that this mission is carried out.  Each liaison works in their local community, in cooperation with their Central Labor Council, to expand services, work for public policy and increase the capacity for workers and their families to impact and improve the quality of their lives. 


AFL-CIO COMMUNITY SERVICES LIAISONS

Belleville

Terry Knoth
AFL-CIO Community Services Liaison
1124 Hartman Lane, Ste. 130
Belleville, IL 62221
Ph. 618/233-8441
 terry.knoth@stl.unitedway.org 

Chicago

Michael Hartge
AFL-CIO Community Services Liaison
333 S. Wabash Ave., 30th Floor
Chicago, IL 60604
Ph. 312/906-2434
 michael.hartge@uw-mc.org 

East Alton

Nick Dodson
AFL-CIO Community Services Liaison
707 Berkshire Blvd., Suite 270
East Alton, IL 62024
Ph. 618/258-9800
 nick.dodson@stl.unitedway.org 

Peoria

Amy Flynn
AFL-CIO Community Services Liaison
509 W. High St.
Peoria, IL 61606
Ph. 309/674-5449
 amy.flynn@unitedway.org 

Champaign

Bradley Diel
AFL-CIO Community Services Liaison
404 W. Church St.
Champaign, IL 61820
Ph. 217/352-5151
 brad@uwayhelps.org 

Chicago

Ana Maria Montes De Oca-Rojas
AFL-CIO Community Services Liaison
333 S. Wabash Ave., 30th Floor
Chicago, IL 60604
Ph. 312/906-2434
 anamarie.montesdeoca-rojas@uw-mc.org 

Granite City

Terry Biggs
AFL-CIO Community Services Liaison
1821 Edison Ave.
Granite City, IL 62040
Ph. 618/877-6780
 terry.biggs@stl.unitedway.org 

Rock Island

Cecilia O'Brien
AFL-CIO Community Services Liaison
825 Middle Rd., Suite 401
Bettendorf, IA 52722
Ph. 563/344-0319
 cobrien@unitedwayqc.org 

Chicago

Gus Fuguitt
AFL-CIO Community Services Liaison
333 S. Wabash Ave., 30th Floor
Chicago, IL 60604
Ph. 312/906-2434
 gus.fuguitt@uw-mc.org 

Chicago

Mia Berry
AFL-CIO Community Services Liaison
333 S. Wabash Ave., 30th Floor
Chicago, IL 60604
Ph. 312/906-2434
 mia.berry@uw-mc.org 

Joliet

Vacant
AFL-CIO Community Services Liaison
724 Railroad Street, Ste. 6
Joliet, IL 60436
Ph. 815/723-3232
 laborecord@aol.com 

Rockford

Jesse Dorner
AFL-CIO Community Services Liaison
612 N. Main St., Ste 300
Rockford, IL 61103
Ph. 815/986-4822
 jessed@hotmail.com